Conservation Commission

The Bolton Conservation Commission’s role is to promote stewardship of natural and cultural resources in our town and to advise the Select Board, Planning Commission, and Development Review Board on matters relating to the environment.  The members are appointed by the Select Board and while the current membership of the Conservation Commission consists of diverse backgrounds and some expertise in the fields of ecology and natural resources, we draw on professionals in the private and public realms to assist our efforts.  For more details, or if you are interested in joining the Conservation Commission, contact the Town Office.

Note:  Documents linked to this page are PDFs. 


The Conservation Commission is currently utilizing a rotating Chair model.

  • Pamela Gude, Vice Chair (term expires 2025)
  • Amy Ludwin, (term expires 2026)
  • Jerry Mullen (term expires 2025)
  • Rob Mullen (term expires 2026)
  • Steve McLeod  (term expires 2026)
  • Tim Sichel (term expires 2026)
  • Emmet Hoskin (expires 2025)


The CC meets monthly on the fourth Monday of the month at 6:30 pm.  

Please note the new start time of 6:30 pm. 

As of July 1, 2021, the CC is returning to in-person meetings held at the Bolton Town Office, with a virtual option for participation.


Preston Pond Conservation Area Steward
Rob Mullen (two year term expires March 2024)
Will Peery (two year term expires 2025)
Water Woods (Nebikpiwi) Conservation Area Steward
Pamela Gude (two year term expires 2025)
Sign art compliments of Julie Longstreth ~ Photo credit: Q. Keating

Conservation Commission Survey

Wheeler field survey summary

Wheeler Field is a new town park in West Bolton that comprises about 3.6 acres of property which had been slated for development (lot 7 & 8).  The two lots were acquired and conserved in 2023 thanks to dedicated fundraising efforts, support from the community, and a grant from the Vermont Housing & Conservation Board.  It’s located at the intersection of Nashville and Stage Rd. and has served as a community space for many years thanks to its small baseball field and larger open field space.  The town is now gathering information to develop a master plan for the area.  Surveys will be accepted until March 31, 2024.

Wheeler Field Survey (complete online)

Wheeler Field Survey (for printing out and returning to the Town Office)

Wheeler Field Map for Survey